
Peptides
GHK-Cu, the copper peptide in your serum: what the evidence actually shows
GHK-Cu is a copper-binding tripeptide first reported in human serum in 1973, with five decades of cell-culture and animal research behind it — and almost no published human trials in front of it. The facial studies behind the marketing were never published in a peer-reviewed journal — we know them mainly through a review by the peptide's discoverer — and the one peer-reviewed randomized facial trial in PubMed had 13 patients complete it and found no objective difference in wrinkles. Topically it is a cosmetic — a category FDA does not approve before market — and the injectable version is an unapproved drug whose compounding nomination FDA lists as withdrawn after sitting in its "significant safety risks" category.
What GHK-Cu is
GHK is a tripeptide — three amino acids, glycyl-L-histidyl-L-lysine — that binds copper ions to form GHK-Cu. Loren Pickart and Michael Thaler described it in 1973 as a "tripeptide in human serum which prolongs survival of normal liver cells" — and, the same title notes, "stimulates growth in neoplastic liver," a duality the marketing never quotes. A 2020 University of Washington review states serum levels average "200 ng/ml at age 20 but declining to an average of 80 ng/ml by age 60." That is a review's summary — a correlation, not evidence that restoring the level does anything.
Precision matters: GHK-Cu is not "copper peptides" in general. The hair study most often borrowed for copper-peptide marketing tested AHK-Cu — a different tripeptide — on follicles in laboratory culture, not GHK-Cu and not in people. Matrixyl-type palmitoyl peptides are different molecules again. A result for one peptide does not transfer to another, as our pillar on what peptides are explains.
The laboratory evidence is real — and it is laboratory evidence
The mechanism claims trace to genuine experiments. In 1988, Maquart and colleagues (Pickart among the authors) reported that GHK-Cu stimulated collagen synthesis in cultured fibroblasts, with stimulation that "began between 10(-12) and 10(-11) M, maximized at 10(-9) M." In animals, liposomes loaded with GHK-Cu accelerated wound healing in scalded mice, and hydrogels carrying the plain GHK tripeptide — without the copper — did the same in rats with cutting wounds.
Two caveats. First, authorship is unusually concentrated: a PubMed search for GHK papers by Pickart returns nine records, including the most-cited reviews — the 2015 review whose listed affiliation is "Skin Biology," Pickart's own company, and a 2018 sequel. Its broadest claims — that GHK can up- and downregulate "at least 4,000 human genes, essentially resetting DNA to a healthier state" — are that review's words, not a trial's. Second, independent reviewers see the same gap we do: a 2024 review in Bioimpacts concluded that although GHK-Cu is widely formulated into anti-wrinkle products, "there is a surprising absence of clinical studies using them."
The human studies — all of them
Below is every human study of topical GHK-Cu for skin aging we could locate in PubMed (searched August 16, 2026), plus the unindexed studies the field itself cites. (PubMed also holds a few human studies of multi-ingredient products that include a copper tripeptide — for scars and seborrheic dermatitis — which cannot isolate GHK-Cu and are not skin-aging trials.)
| Study | Design and venue | n | Duration | What it reported |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Abdulghani 1998 | Pilot, creams on thigh skin; journal not in PubMed; via Pickart's review | Not stated | 1 month | Collagen increased in 70% of women on GHK-Cu vs 50% on vitamin C cream, 40% on retinoic acid |
| Leyden 2002 (facial cream) | AAD meeting proceedings; never journal-published; via the same review | 71 women | 12 weeks | Improved laxity, clarity, fine lines, skin density vs placebo |
| Leyden 2002 (eye cream) | University report; never journal-published; via the same review | 41 women | 12 weeks | Outperformed placebo and a vitamin K cream on lines and density |
| Finkley 2005 | Book chapter; via the same review | 67 women | 12 weeks | Improved laxity, wrinkles, pigmentation, density |
| Miller 2006 | Randomized, blinded evaluation, peer-reviewed (Arch Facial Plast Surg) | 13 completed | 12 weeks post CO₂ laser | "Objective evaluation found no significant improvement in wrinkles or overall skin quality"; only patient-reported quality differed (P = .04) |
| Byun 2016 | Case report, jet-device delivery of a five-ingredient mix including copper-GHK (J Cosmet Laser Ther) | 1 man | 12 weeks | Reduced crow's feet on photographs — not attributable to any single component |
Read that table the way a reviewer would: the three favorable facial studies were never peer-reviewed, and the fullest public account of them is a review whose lead author discovered the molecule and sells products built on it. The one peer-reviewed randomized trial was small, ran on laser-resurfaced skin, and was objectively null. None of this proves the creams do nothing; it means the question has gone seriously untested in public for twenty-plus years. Compare collagen peptides, where dozens of randomized trials exist and the argument is about funding and quality.
Wound healing is better studied, thanks to a 1990s drug-development effort. A multicenter randomized, evaluator-blinded trial in diabetic foot ulcers reported a GHK-Cu gel ("Iamin") increased median ulcer closure — "98.5% median area percentage closure compared with 60.8% for vehicle; p < 0.05" — though the abstract does not state enrollment. In venous ulcers, a randomized evaluator-blinded trial of 86 evaluable patients found the copper-tripeptide cream no different from placebo. No GHK-Cu wound drug was ever approved (searches below); a placebo-controlled wound-gel trial is recruiting as NCT07437586. As of August 16, 2026, we found no registered trial of GHK-Cu for skin aging, and none of injectable GHK-Cu, on ClinicalTrials.gov.
What US law lets a serum claim
Topical GHK-Cu is sold as a cosmetic, and FDA does not review cosmetics before sale: "cosmetic products and ingredients do not need FDA premarket approval, with the exception of color additives." The Modernization of Cosmetics Regulation Act of 2022 (MoCRA) added facility registration, product listing, serious-adverse-event reporting, and records "supporting adequate safety substantiation" — but no pre-approval, and per FDA, "neither the law nor FDA regulations require specific tests to demonstrate the safety of individual products or ingredients."
The legal line runs through intended use. A cosmetic is for "cleansing, beautifying, promoting attractiveness, or altering the appearance." A drug is intended "to affect the structure or any function of the body" — and FDA's own examples of drug claims include promises to "restore hair growth … or regenerate cells." "Reduces the appearance of fine lines" is a cosmetic claim. "Regenerates skin" and "regrows hair" — language much GHK-Cu marketing actually uses — are drug claims, for a product no one has taken through drug review.
The injectable version is a different legal universe
Anti-aging clinics and "research chemical" websites also sell GHK-Cu as an injectable — legally a drug, where the record is short. Searching FDA's Drugs@FDA database through the openFDA API on August 16, 2026, for "GHK," "glycyl-histidyl-lysine," "copper peptide" and "tripeptide-1" returned no approved drug product containing GHK-Cu, for any route.
Compounding is no back door either. GHK-Cu was nominated for the 503A list of bulk substances pharmacies may compound, and FDA's category page — updated April 22, 2026 — now shows it under "bulk drug substances nominated but withdrawn," substances "previously in category 2 of the interim policies" — FDA's significant-safety-risk category — whose nominations "were withdrawn by the nominators." FDA's stated concern: "Compounded injectable drugs containing GHK-Cu may pose risk for immunogenicity due to the potential for aggregation and peptide-related impurities. There are limited data in humans to inform safety-related considerations." The question is not closed: FDA's Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee lists GHK-Cu among five substances it will discuss at a meeting to be held by the end of February 2027 — the same non-binding process as BPC-157.
In the test-purchase study our certificate-of-analysis guide covers, "99% pure" gray-market semaglutide vials measured 7.7% to 14.37% purity, with endotoxin in every sample — the supply chain, not the molecule, is the point. We publish no dosing for injectable GHK-Cu: there is no approved label, no human pharmacokinetic dataset, and — per FDA's note above — limited human safety data of any kind.
How to read a copper-peptide label
- Concentration is almost never disclosed. The cell-culture effects were concentration-dependent (maximal at 10⁻⁹ M); a label tells you neither concentration nor what reaches the dermis.
- Check which molecule is named. "Copper tripeptide-1" is GHK-Cu; AHK-Cu and palmitoyl peptides are different compounds with separate evidence.
- Match the claim to the study. The unpublished facial studies reported grader and instrument scores over 12 weeks in women around 50. If a product cites "clinical studies" without naming them, the table above is the entire list to check against.
- Anything injectable moves you from cosmetics to unapproved drugs — different law, different risks, a category where clinic pricing runs far ahead of evidence.
Questions readers ask
Does GHK-Cu reduce wrinkles?
Unproven in the peer-reviewed literature. The favorable facial studies from the early 2000s (71, 41 and 67 women over 12 weeks) were never published in peer-reviewed journals, and the one peer-reviewed randomized trial — 13 patients after laser resurfacing — found no objective improvement in wrinkles; cell-culture and animal data are not evidence in people.
Is GHK-Cu FDA approved?
No, in both senses. As a cream or serum it is a cosmetic, which FDA does not approve before sale. As an injectable it would be a drug, and searches of FDA's Drugs@FDA database on August 16, 2026 returned no approved product containing GHK-Cu.
Is injectable GHK-Cu legal?
There is no FDA-approved injectable GHK-Cu, and it currently appears on no list of substances pharmacies may lawfully compound under section 503A; FDA's advisory committee is scheduled to discuss it by the end of February 2027. Products sold as "research chemicals" are not made, tested or labeled for human use.
Sources
- Pickart L, Thaler MM. Tripeptide in human serum which prolongs survival of normal liver cells and stimulates growth in neoplastic liver. Nature New Biology, May 16, 1973 — the original identification of GHK in human serum. pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/4349963
- Dou Y, Lee A, Zhu L, Morton J, Ladiges W. The potential of GHK as an anti-aging peptide. Aging Pathobiology and Therapeutics, March 27, 2020 — review; serum levels averaging 200 ng/ml at age 20 declining to 80 ng/ml by age 60. pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/35083444
- Maquart FX, Pickart L, et al. Stimulation of collagen synthesis in fibroblast cultures by the tripeptide-copper complex glycyl-L-histidyl-L-lysine-Cu2+. FEBS Letters, October 10, 1988 — the core in-vitro collagen finding. pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/3169264
- Pickart L, Vasquez-Soltero JM, Margolina A. GHK Peptide as a Natural Modulator of Multiple Cellular Pathways in Skin Regeneration. BioMed Research International, 2015 — review by the discoverer (affiliation: Skin Biology, Bellevue, WA); source for the unindexed facial studies (Abdulghani 1998; Leyden 2002 ×2; Finkley 2005, refs 32–35). pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/26236730
- Pickart L, Margolina A. Regenerative and Protective Actions of the GHK-Cu Peptide in the Light of the New Gene Data. International Journal of Molecular Sciences, July 7, 2018 — follow-up review by the same authors. pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/29986520
- Mortazavi SM, Mohammadi Vadoud SA, Moghimi HR. Topically applied GHK as an anti-wrinkle peptide: Advantages, problems and prospective. Bioimpacts, April 28, 2024 — independent review noting "a surprising absence of clinical studies." pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/39963574
- Miller TR, Wagner JD, Baack BR, Eisbach KJ. Effects of topical copper tripeptide complex on CO2 laser-resurfaced skin. Archives of Facial Plastic Surgery, July–August 2006 — randomized, blinded evaluation; 13 patients completed; no objective difference in wrinkles or skin quality. pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/16847171
- Byun SY, Chae JB, Na JI, Park KC. Significant improvement in crow's feet after treatment with Jet-M and a mixed solution of copper-GHK, oligo-hyaluronic acid, rhodiolar extract, tranexamic acid, and β-glucan. Journal of Cosmetic Laser Therapy, October 2016 — single-patient case report, device plus five-ingredient combination. pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/27064823
- Mulder GD, Patt LM, et al. Enhanced healing of ulcers in patients with diabetes by topical treatment with glycyl-l-histidyl-l-lysine copper. Wound Repair and Regeneration, October 1994 — multicenter randomized, evaluator-blinded, placebo-controlled trial of Iamin gel; abstract does not state enrollment. pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/17147644
- Bishop JB, Phillips LG, Mustoe TA, et al. A prospective randomized evaluator-blinded trial of two potential wound healing agents for the treatment of venous stasis ulcers. Journal of Vascular Surgery, August 1992 — 86 evaluable patients; tripeptide-copper 0.4% cream no different from placebo. pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/1495150
- Pyo HK, et al. The effect of tripeptide-copper complex on human hair growth in vitro. Archives of Pharmacal Research, July 2007 — tested AHK-Cu, a different tripeptide, in ex vivo follicles and cultured dermal papilla cells. pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/17703734
- Wang X, et al. GHK-Cu-liposomes accelerate scald wound healing in mice by promoting cell proliferation and angiogenesis. Wound Repair and Regeneration, April 2017 — animal wound-healing evidence. pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/28370978
- Hydrogels based on low-methoxyl amidated citrus pectin and flaxseed gum formulated with tripeptide glycyl-l-histidyl-l-lysine improve the healing of experimental cutting wounds in rats. International Journal of Biological Macromolecules, December 2020 — animal study of the plain GHK tripeptide (no copper) delivered in hydrogels. pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/33031852
- US Food and Drug Administration. FDA Authority Over Cosmetics: How Cosmetics Are Not FDA-Approved, but Are FDA-Regulated. Last updated November 18, 2025 — no premarket approval of cosmetic products or ingredients other than color additives. fda.gov/cosmetics/…/fda-authority-over-cosmetics…
- US Food and Drug Administration. Modernization of Cosmetics Regulation Act of 2022 (MoCRA). Last updated August 10, 2026 — registration, listing, safety substantiation and adverse-event reporting; no premarket testing requirement. fda.gov/cosmetics/…/modernization-cosmetics-regulation-act-2022-mocra
- US Food and Drug Administration. Is It a Cosmetic, a Drug, or Both? (Or Is It Soap?). Last updated September 11, 2024 — the intended-use line; "regenerate cells" and "restore hair growth" as drug claims. fda.gov/cosmetics/…/it-cosmetic-drug-or-both-or-it-soap
- US Food and Drug Administration. Certain Bulk Drug Substances for Use in Compounding That May Present Significant Safety Risks. Updated April 22, 2026 — GHK-Cu listed under "bulk drug substances nominated but withdrawn," previously in category 2, with FDA's immunogenicity note. fda.gov/drugs/human-drug-compounding/certain-bulk-drug-substances…
- US Food and Drug Administration. Meeting of the Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee — GHK-Cu among five bulk drug substances to be discussed for the 503A bulks list at a meeting to be held by the end of February 2027. fda.gov/advisory-committees/…/meeting-pharmacy-compounding-advisory-committee
- US Food and Drug Administration. Drugs@FDA database — searched August 16, 2026 via the openFDA drugsfda endpoint for "GHK," "glycyl-histidyl-lysine," "copper peptide" and "tripeptide-1": no approved product. accessdata.fda.gov/scripts/cder/daf; API documentation at open.fda.gov/apis/drug/drugsfda
- ClinicalTrials.gov. Topical GHK-Cu Gel for Acute Skin Wound Healing, NCT07437586 — recruiting, placebo-controlled. clinicaltrials.gov/study/NCT07437586
- Ashraf AR, Mackey TK, et al. Multifactor Quality and Safety Analysis of Semaglutide Products Sold by Online Sellers Without a Prescription. Journal of Medical Internet Research, November 7, 2024 — measured purity 7.7%–14.37% versus 99% claimed; endotoxin in all samples. pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/39509151